BIOLIFE - USFSP Biology Living Learning Community

Login is simple, whether you are on or off campus! Register for a new RefWorks account using your USFSP email address and create a password. If you already have a Legacy account, you have the option of migrating that account to the new version. 

The new version has a navigation menu on the left-hand side of the program screen and a tool bar running across the top. Some functions can be performed from either menu.

The steps to save the results of a search are similar regardless of the catalog or database searched. Terminology may differ but functions are alike:

1. Mark records (check box or click on folder icon) of interest by following the directions given by the specific database or catalog. (Some databases require user to update or save marked items; others automatically save items as they are checked. Exporting one record at a time is possible but using the batch method is more efficient.)
2. Open the saved list of items (may be called a folder, marked list, marked records, or selected items); some databases may require you to confirm what items you want to export
3. Select option to Export and execute the transfer
4. Select RefWorks from the list of options
5. Log into RefWorks account, if prompted
6. When records have been successfully imported, you will see the following message: Import completed - we've saved (number) documents in your library
7. Click OK button
8. The new records are labeled "Last Imported" and will remain there until cleared. If you perform multiple searches and exports, each batch will be labeled with a time indicating when they were collected. 
9. If you wish to place these items in folders, select the individual item or batch byt clicking in the box to the left of the item. The folder icon at the top of the screen will become "live"
10. Click on the folder icon and add the item(s) to an existing folder or create (+ Create) a new folder
11. You will now see items that are in the folder selected or created. To get back to the Last import group, click on the "Last Imported" option located on the menu on the left-hand side of the screen
12. To clear the list, click on the Clear "last Imported" button; this operation does take a few seconds to clear
13. RefWorks imports records exactly as they appear in the database.  Always check imported citations to be sure that all information has been transferred correctly and completely.

Note: If the database does not allow direct export to RefWorks, try saving selections as a delimited text (.txt) file and then import the file into RefWorks. 

To enter a citation manually:

• From the toolbar across the top of the screen, click on the large + sign and select the Create new reference option
• Select the type of material (journal, book, book chapter, etc)
• Enter the citation information into the fields as labeled. More fields are available by clicking on the Add more fields button. Files may be added or dropped into record as well. When done, click on Save (upper right-hand corner of screen)

1. The full text must be saved to your computer first. You can search for full-text using the  Find IT at USF from within RW or by an alternate means but the document must be saved to your computer.
2. Open the record for the article or item.
3. Click on the edit icon. 
4. a) Drag and drop the file OR b) select the file from your computer. 
5. File will first Upload then system will Analyzing
6. Click on Save (upper-right corner)
7. Full text is now available to READ via RW.

• Select a folder of references for the bibliography
• Click on large icon  located in the tool bar at the top of the screen
• Select the Create bibliography option from the drop-down menu
• The bibliography will be generated using the default style. Other styles may be selected from a pull down menu located near the top of the screen where the default style is identified.
• Use the Copy to Clipboard button to highlight and copy the items, then paste in document
• Check accuracy of style

Cleaning up your database:

• From the tool bar, select the icon
• Select Find duplicates option
• Chose either "Strict Match" or "Fuzzy Match".
• You can choose a folder or review All references in your database
• Click on Find Duplicates button
• Similar records will be compiled for your review to keep or delete

You may share a folder with a colleague:

• Click on the folder you wish to share
• From the Sharing pull-down menu, select Share a folder
• Invite one or more people to share by typing in their email address
• Choose level of permissions: Can read, Can annotate, Can modify
• Click Share Folder button and then the Done button
• An icon with more than one head appears to the left of the folder name. 
• To change share, select Share settings from the menu, add new or Unshare Folder to stop sharing.

• Write-N-Cite allows you to cite references from your RefWorks account while writing your paper. With just a few clicks you can choose from thousands of bibliography styles and watch as it instantly formats your in-text citations, footnotes and bibliography. The program is downloaded & installed on your computer and there is a version for Microsoft Word and for Google Docs.
• Save to RefWorks lets you add references and full-text to RefWorks from any website. Installation is a one-time download to the browser's bookmark. Currently, Save to RefWorks only works on Chrome.