Chemistry

Resources for students taking chemistry courses

Suggested Databases

Databases that include scholarly journal articles on topics in chemistry & related disciplines are listed here. A good rule of thumb is always search more than one because every database includes some unique items not found in other databases.

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar provides access to Chemical Abstracts, CAplus, Medline, CASREACT, CAS Registry, CHEMCATS, and ChemList.

You must be USF faculty, staff, or currently enrolled as a student to access SciFinder Scholar. Each person must register for an invididual account; access to this resource is shared by Florida universities and permits 21 simultaneous users. 

In order to set up an account and/or access SciFinder from a remote location, you must first login using the web-based virtual private network (VPN) offered by USF IT.  Click the link below and log in to the VPN with your NetID; you must have Java and a Java-compatible browser on your computer. For assistance, please contact the USF IT Help Desk at help@usf.edu.

More Specialized Databases

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar limits the results of your search to academically appropriate materials.

Google Scholar Search

Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer review refers to the process where an author's work is reviewed or vetted by experts in the subject field before it is published in a scholarly / academic journal. This kind of review is often "blind" where the reviewers may not know who the author is and visa versa. The peer-review process ensures that quality of article is good; the hypothesis or research question has merit and the methodology, results and conclusions are appropriate, accurate and reproducible.

4 ways to locate the full text of an article

a) Click on the “full-text” link (when available) within the database.
b) Use the  Find it @ USF link included within a database.
c) Perform a title search on the title of the journal (not the article title) in the USF library catalog.
d) Use the e-journal finder.  Search by the title of the journal (not the article title) then browse the backfiles to locate the correct volume and issue.